New co-presidents of the HDP elected: Figen Yuksekdag and Selahattin Demirtas

After the Congress of People’s Democracy Party (HDP), Figen Yüksekdağ and Selahattin Demirtaş were elected as new co-chairpersons.
The election, that took place in Ankara, was held with a single list.
The congress also determined HDP’s new Party Assembly, Central Disciplinary Board and Reconciliation Board members.
While the former co-chairperson Ertuğrul Kürkçü was elected as honorary chairman, Sebahat Tuncel remained as a member of party assembly.
According to Dicle News Agency (DİHA), amendments have been made in the party’s statue as well. According to this, the number of Party Assembly members increased from 80 to 100.
Central Executive Commission, on other hand, increased from 25 to 29.
The co-chairperson system was also adjusted to the statute. The co-chairperson system in provencal organization, however, remained de facto.
It was also noted that two co-chairpersons could also be women within the party’s principle of %50 positive discrimination.